Fellowships are awarded to Society Members who have contributed significantly to medical or non-medical writing or who have inspired and or mentored writers or have played an important role as editors and or for their achievements & contribution to the Society.

Fellows are entitled to the privileges that attend thereto including use of the suffix letters FSOMW

The Fellowship Secretary is Prof Brian McGuinness   bwmcguninnes@live.co.uk


For the year 2014:

Fellowship (Honorary)                        Richard Cutler

Wilfred Hopkins Award                        Oliver Eade

Bacon Student Writing Award              Richard Scott Pye

Michael Lasserson Award                    Vinaya Srirangam


For the year 2013:

Wilfred Hopkins Award                        Richard Westcott


For the year 2012:

Fellowship                                          Oliver Eade


For the year 2011:

Fellowship                                          Raymond Hume

Honorary Member                               Nadia Lasserson

Wilfred Hopkins Award                        Richard Westcott

Gus Plaut Medal                                  Michael Lasserson            James Willis


For the year 2010:

Fellowships                                        Christopher Cameron                Oliver Eade

Honorary Member                               Elspeth Dennison

Wilfred Hopkins Award                        Oliver Eade                      Chris Walker

Bacon Student Writing Award              Simon Durkin and Sabrina Khan

Richard Asher Prize for Medical Writing        Katie O’Connell-Binns


For the year 2009:

Wilfred Hopkins Cup                           Oliver Eade

Gus Plaut Medal                                  Ruth Chambers


For the year 2008:

President                                            Brian McGuiness
Fellowship                                          David Misselbrook

Wilfred Hopkins Cup                           Oliver Eade

Gus Plaut Medal                                  Brian W McGuinness

Bacon Student Writing Award              Joanne Li Shen

Academic and Scientific Award            Sonia Saxena


For the year 2007:

Fellowships                                        Ron Mulroy                      Ann Whitehead

Wilfred Hopkins Cup                           Oliver Eade

Gus Plaut Medal                                  David Haslam


For the year 2006:

Patron                                                Julia Neuberger
                   James le Fanu                 Liam Farrell                     J F Fleetwood Snr  

                   Paul Sackin                      J V Salinsky                     Harold Selcon

Honorary Fellowships                         Tricia Greenhalgh            Julia Neuberger

Life Members                                     Rodger Charlton

Wilfred Hopkins Cup                           Harold Selcon

Gus Plaut Medal                                  Wilfred Hopkins

Academic and Scientific Award            Karsten J Jorgensen and Peter C Gotzche


For the year 2005


          Tina Ambury                    Marie Campkin                Professor Ruth Chambers

          Dorothy Crowther            David Haslam                  Robin Hull

          Kausar Jafri                     Pippa Keech                    Michael Lasserson

          W John Lockley                Rod Manton                    Ian McKee

          Gustav S Plaut T.D           Neil Wilson                      Gill Wakley                     

Honorary Fellowships                         Yvonne H Carter               Roger Neighbour
Life Members                                     Gilly Bolton                      Wilfred Hopkins

Wilfred Hopkins Cup                                  Julian Randall