SOMW Competitions



SOMW competitions are open to all members of the Society: awards are by committee nomination only.



·         The Roger Bacon Biography Award for Medical Students

·         The Wilfred Hopkins Award is given annually for the best entry across all writing categories that year.

·         Twice-yearly writing competitions in a variety of categories. The subjects, details and rules are here.

·         The Richard Asher Prize for Medical Writing — e.g. for a research paper or a published article. Nominations are required for this prize — simply mention the name of the paper, by whom it was written and in which publication it appeared. Self-nomination is acceptable. Email details to our Secretary, who will pass them on for consideration.

·         The Michael Lasserson award is given for the best article in ‘The Writer’ of the past calendar year.



General rules for entry to SOMW competitions


Competition entry form





Home page